Maybelline Vivid Matte Lipstick! FAILURE!

I am a sucker for Liquid Lipsticks!! I prefer them over a bullet lipstick any day! So when I was buying some things from Boots I picked up two liquid lipsticks that I have been wanting to try for a while, the Maybelline Vivid Matte Lipsticks. I have tried and tested both of these and here is my review on them.

wp-1470165204102.jpg

I picked two shades, a nude shade ‘Nude Thrill’ (obviously I had to pick a nude! you can never have enough nude lipsticks!!) and I picked the shade ‘Rebel Red’ as I am looking for a good Red matte lipstick that will last throughout the day!

Nude Thrill

The packaging is nice I like how the logo looks on the front, it looks like glass however its a clear plastic and looks classy, the actual lipstick was shorter than I expected (I purchased wp-1470165185314.jpgthese online), however it wasn’t a big deal to me.

The lipstick wand is flat shaped I actually
do not like these wands I feel like they get product onto my skin while applying which is annoying I prefer the wands that are pointed at the top which can get into the corner of my lips without getting it on my face!

wp-1470165189787.jpg The actual shade is a perfect nude on my skin I love the colour, however it does not last very long, within an hour it had disappeared!! I was gutted! I had to reapply the lipstick throughout the day I found that the consistency was creamy and it didn’t dry matte and it kind of slides out of place which is annoying! So overall I like the colour, and that’s about it! which was a BIG disappointment!

Rebel Red

The other Maybelline Vivid Matte Lipstick I purchased was the shade Rebel Red, now I havewp-1470165200188.jpg been wanting a BOLD red liquid lipstick for a while as I have soo many nudes and pinky shades I want to try shades out of my comfort zone, so I picked this one up too, firstly the shade, it is definitely a BOLD red! In my swatch it looks more of a brownish red but it is a BRIGHT RED I loved the colour, however!! I have had a weird experience with this one! I swatched it and it was fine everything was normal, but when i applied this to my lips I found that firstly it wasn’t going on well it was leaving patches? if that makes sense? then after applying it on properly, I instantly felt a tingling feeling which I have never had after wearing any liptick? then I thought it may have been because I hadn’t wore any lip balm or Vaseline wp-1470165195819.jpgas I usually do, but then it got worse, my lips went numb! I couldn’t feel them, they felt double the size so I took the lipstick off with wipes then washed them they still felt like they had blown up a size or two so i applied some cold water and they kind of ‘came back’, so I then went on to google it and found that many people experienced this with the Maybelline Vivid Matte Lipsticks !! I was pretty annoyed that I didn’t do my research first which I normally do when buying new things! I was hugely disappointed!

 

Rate the product: 4/10

Would I purchase this product again?: NO!

Would I recommend this product: No, I would say you could test them at the store, see how you feel about them but they really aren’t worth it if your looking for a matte finish or a long lasting liquid lipstick.

I purchased these for £4.99 as they are currently on sale at Boots down from £7.99! I feel that they shouldn’t have the word ‘Matte’ in the name as they really aren’t! I really wanted to like these which is a shame as I have never had a bad thing to say about Maybelline products they are actually my favourite drug store brand!

Has anyone else used these lipsticks and maybe had a similar experience!?

Aneesaxox

 

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Vivid Matte Lipstick! FAILURE!

  1. The last time I used a Maybelline liquid lip product it was one of those 24 hour wear jobs. Didn’t work! It kept crumbling off and looking awful. Their bullet lipsticks aren’t bad but I was massively put off their liquid lips by the old ones…and your review has convinced me they haven’t improved!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was disappointed with these too! When it says matte on the packaging I want it to be matte and these just weren’t! I didn’t get the tingling (which is a surprise because i’m super sensitive), but I agree that they don’t last well and they actually left behind a stain on my lips (I have the red and the berry ones) that did not look good at all! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment